Legs Cramping During Long Run

Alice

I'm on day 7 of my first Whole30, and currently training for my second half marathon. I've been running consistently for 2 years.

My long run this morning was 13km. At kilometre 5 my leg muscles started cramping. Not just pain, but visible spasm of the muscles, particularly my calf muscles. I stopped and massaged them out, but continued in this fashion until the end of my run. Which disappointingly turned into more of a run/walk, not ideal at this stage of my training.

Has anyone else experienced something like this? I really hope it is a one off thing and a "phase" of my whole30 experience. Is there anything I should definitely be eating/drinking before hand to help prevent this? I think I was pretty well hydrated. I ate chicken with avocado before I left the house this morning.

http://forum.whole9life.com/topic/6783-severe-leg-pains-after-long-run/

A lot already posted on this topic:

Make sure you are well fueled the day before a long run by eating sweet potato,squash etc with meals and are recovered properly..... Once the tank is empty, no way to fill it back up during a run

Also, like many others, I needed to really take my training back a few notches when first starting W30.... It's a lot for your body to get used to.... By week 3-4 you should be really reaping the benefits

Good luck

Agree with Fenderbender, I was running into a brick wall from about 1-3.5 weeks, but then it got a lot better and I did a half on Day 28 with no energy issues. Give it enough time and eat your sweet potatoes!

I have been having cramping in my legs and feet--what fun! and I was reading on here and on other paleo/primal sites that those of us that eschew processed foods may not get enough sodium in our diets, so we need to make sure we salt our foods. I was also reading about drinking brine from real pickles and sauerkraut--just a few T, not a glassful! Can be helpful as well.