Novice cook, please help!

Crainium

I am a novice cook on day 11 of my Whole 30, and I'm definitely feeling like a lot of my time is absorbed by cooking and cleaning up after. I received some helpful tips in my Whole 30 daily email yesterday, but I feel I'm still struggling to keep up. Does this get easier? Any tips and tricks you've learned?

Another thing is, like you all I eat a LOT of veggies at every meal, and since I'm used to only cooking for me, I don't know how to to say, roast TWO trays of veggies instead of one in my oven. I feel like it would help if I could be preparing tomorrow's lunch while I'm preparing tonight's dinner, but I don't know how. This particularly applies to veggies since I already cook my protein in advance. Help!

Hi - Cooking, planning, etc, gets way easier as you get into a routine. As a working mom, my best time savers (aka sanity savers) is to plan a week in advance and do as much prep in advance as I can. I prep as much of a dinner recipe as possible the night before so I have less to do to get dinner on the table. I'll do all of the chopping for several days of meals on the weekends to make my weekdays easier. I often double the meat I'm making to use later in the week or freeze for a super quick meal another time. I often roast two trays of veg at the same time - I just rotate the pans as I flip the veg. Or, I'll put get two trays ready, cook one for dinner and as soon as it's out, put the other in to have the leftovers for another meal. We eat a ton of raw veggies, too, so I prep them in bulk on the weekends. Lots of chopping! Luckily, I actually find chopping relaxing. I gets easier!