Hi everyone,

I've been Whole30/paleo for coming up on one year (yay!). I'm a doctoral student and have been taking medication for ADHD for 22 years (ritalin/concerta for 11 years and strattera for 11). I've heard that a number of people have had reduced symptoms on the Whole30 (my primary is inattention). While I've done two "official" Whole30s, I've never reintroduced foods without my medication.

Well, I'm taking comps in a few days and will then have an opportunity to finally take an extended break from the medication. I'll really like to stop taking it for good because none of these meds are ideal and all of them have really scary side-effects.

Here's my questions:

• Does anyone know anything about ADHD and the Whole30 (not much in the testimonials section of the site)?
  • Should I try a Whole30 (with reintroduction) without meds?
  • Or should I do the autoimmune protocol without meds (I also have primary Raynaud's)?
  • Or is there someone elimination diet that would be better first off for someone in my shoes?

Also, I'd appreciate it if any who feel like ADHD is a scam or fake or whatever would kindly keep that to themselves. I can attest that it is very real...and debilitating. I wouldn't be who I am today without the medication, but I'm ready to move on and live a more free and healthy life.

Thanks so much, y'all! Best health community on the Web. Period.