Waitress/bartender help!

Sheilaqueso

I'm in the first week of my whole30 right now, and I need some input. I work as a bartender and waitress at a wine bar and restaurant. Part of my job is that I have to taste wines. I only started here a few weeks ago, so I am still learning our wine list and my boss does wine tastings at the end of a lot of shifts or at random during the night. I start work at 4, so I normally eat a snack before and they feed me dinner around 6. I'm allergic to wheat, so I generally am fed roasted veggies and sausage. But I am sure they aren't 100% compliant.

My main question: since my diet in general is very low carb, very low sugar, is it worth it for me to do the whole30 given the fact that days I'm working (5-6 days a week) I'm going to be eating non-compliant food/drink? I can't decide if I should just go back to eating my usual diet or keep doing as good a whole30 as I can!

I would say to follow Whole30 as well as you can...technically, you'd be following the Primal approach which is not as strict as Paleo/Whole30.  I think you would still reap the benefits of this lifestyle if you try to follow it as much as possible!  ;)

too much stress to do the Whole30 AND navigate the demands of your new position - just eat as close to Whole30 as possible. I'm sure you'll still reap lots of benefits. What are your reasons for doing a Whole30? Perhaps just eating a good paleo diet will help address some of your motivations.

I wanted to do it because I feel like my stomach still isn't acting quite right. I've had a lot of issues with it (read: my system freaked out so much from a few ignored allergies that I couldn't eat anything but almonds, lentils, eggs, and veggies for two months), so I figured maybe cutting out more than just simple carbs and sugar would be a good idea. I also feel like my body processes food in a strange way, and I feel hungry a lot, so I thought maybe the whole30 could help me stabilize my system.