cramps and nausea - help!

Hey guys,

I've started the whole30 3 days ago and my mom spontaneously decided to join me. 

She is skeptical about the rules but wants to give it a try because she needs to change her eating habits (she is overweight and has knee problems). 

I know we have both only just started the program and enjoy our meals quite a lot.

However, we are already running into troubles: While my mum has been suffering from painful cramps in her calves and toes since yesterday, I was nauseated last night and tonight and got stomach cramps that kept me awake. 

My mom has never had problems with cramps before and I have never had any stomach conditions either. I also didn't adjust my diet drastically as I've been eating paleo for several months already.

I really want to follow through with the program. But I can already see how my mum is starting to doubt the whole thing. She is a doctor and generally doesn't believe in guidelines like no dairy or no legumes... 

All this is making me very insecure. Should we just push through? Take supplements? Or is the whole30 just not for everyone? 

It makes me miserable and discouraged to think that I am making my mum feel bad when she trusted me and my research instead of what she learned in medical school...

Thanks in advance for your help.

Can you post your food log for the past 2-3 days, so the folks here can give you specific feedback on what you've been eating?

EDIT: Are you both staying sufficiently hydrated?  You want to drink water in the amount of at least 1/2 your body weight in ounces, daily.

• Moderators