Starting with food

Ytu

Hello!

My name is Iitu (pronounced like 'y tu' in Spanish hence the username) and this is my day 1 log.

I'm not new to paleo world and have followed Primal and Perfect Health Diet recommendations off and on for around three years. But this will by far be the strictest paleo I have ever attempted. My intention is for it not to feel strict or restrictive though, just take it easy and enjoy it. Individual foods don't seem to cause me acute health problems but I have struggled with emotional binge eating since I was a teenager. I would also say I'm a sugar addict. I've lived without sugar, without grains and without dairy at times but never all at once. I've never tried to give up alcohol before. Usually not a heavy drinker anyway but it can feel like I need the crutch of half a bottle of wine to relax on a Friday evening. I'm sure you know what I mean.

So I'm hoping that by introducing my body to healthy foods on a healthy schedule, I'll gradually overcome the binge eating. Also hoping to have more energy. I sleep well but would like to have more energy for exercise. And while I'm not actually overweight (62kg/164cm) I would be more than happy to lose a couple of kgs of body fat during the 30 days.

Anyway, that's it for a short intro and I'm sure I'll find the opportunity to write more about my various issues and concerns as we go ahead. For now, it's all Day One Superstar Glory (yes, I've read the timeline!).

Breakfast: Two soft-boiled eggs, a banana, a black coffee. One gooseberry (the sole crop from my gooseberry bush).

Lunch: Minced lamb cooked with courgettes, herbs, spring onions. Cherry tomatoes.

Dinner: Pan-fried fillet of mackerel with wilted iceberg lettuce, cooked carrots with cumin and almonds. Raspberries.

Comment on meals: Will try to keep meal structure to recommendation whenever I can. Will also try not to snack. Snacked a little bit on carrots and almonds while preparing dinner.