Day 3 and some concerns

rackap

Hey- newbie here,

I've recently decided to revamp my lifestyle after realizing that the constant fatigue and exhaustion I've been feeling is unsustainable.  I started going to the gym 3-4 times, and this is the next step in my health journey. I've also heard incredibly good things about The Whole 30 in relation to people with chronic migraines, and I'm hopeful.

Here's my concern: even though i'm fat, (5'5 and 235) I'm actually (on paper) incredibly healthy. Excellent cholesterol, liver functions, blood sugar, blood pressure, pulse, etc. You name it, my doctor has run a test, and it's come back with flying colors. I'm not 

I'm concerned that the high amounts of protein (especially eggs, oil, and meat) will have a negative impact on my health. Has anyone experienced this? 

I'm also really struggling with meal planning, but that's more a planning issue!

Not sure why you think you will be eating 'high amounts of protein."  Have you looked at the meal template? http://whole30.com/downloads/whole30-meal-planning.pdf .  It only requires you to eat 1-2 palm-size servings of meat/fish or the number of eggs you can hold in one hand for 3 meals a day.  The rest of your plate should be full of veggies and then add in 1-2 thumb sizes of fat.  You could consider buying the book "It Starts With Food" so you can have a better understanding why each of your meals should contain protein.  You don't have to buy the book, however, and can find much of the info you need on the website. 

Also, if you read the many success stories, you will only see testimonials of health improvements on the Whole30. I don't think you have anything to worry about!

edited for content

I bought the book, and I'm about halfway done reading it. I've also looked at the material, I just think in relation to my old eating ways, I'm definitely eating more eggs and meats now. I guess the answer would be to make sure some of that is balanced with fish and poultry.