question about cooking with oil or fat in recipes

jenn1067

maybe? Consider the "thumb" size portion of fat in the meal template as a minimum. If that's the amount of fat in your recipe and it satisfies you for 4-5 hours without snacking that's fine. If you get hungry, or just want the taste of more fat in a given meal, try having a little bit more.

ps. Also remember that some cooking fat stays in the pan, and what might seem like a lot of fat in a recipe is getting split up into several servings. basically know that most people hesitate to eat enough fat. Fat is good. eat more.

Unless I am cooking something specifically for the fat--like salad dressing made with bacon and bacon grease--or pouring the fat in the pan over the meal, I ALWAYS add an additional fat. Don't count that fat in the pan as your fat. Fat is good, fat is yummy, fat is what carries flavor. Don't fear the fat. :)  ;)  

• 3 weeks later...

I'm new to this and plan to start the Whole 30 this week.  I also have a nutrition background and can't wrap my head around why vegetable oils are NOT ok when they contain "good fats" (unsaturated) and why coconut oil (which at mainly saturated fat) is one of the main fats to use. I'm sure there is some good reason for this.  Can someone please explain. I'm concerned since my cholesterol and triglycerides are a bit high (not enough for any medication).  It's likely hereditary, but consuming additional saturated fats concerns me a bit. Thanks in advance for any info.