snacks between meal 2 and meal 3

lauren306

I'm a teacher and have an incredibly early lunch, (more like brunch!) at 10:30. I don't usually eat dinner until around 5:30 or 6. I know snacking is not encouraged but would a snack between these times be acceptable? If so, what would you suggest!! 

Thanks!! 

One Hungry Teacher :) 

• Administrators

Yes, you should eat between these two meals.  No one expects you to go 8 hours between meals.  Realistically you should be having a fourth meal in there but if you can't pull that off, stick with a mini meal of at least 2 of the 3 macros (ie, protein and fat or protein and veggies).  Hardboiled eggs, chicken thighs, olives etc are all good choices.

• Moderators

Eating between meals if you have a long window like that is absolutely okay!

Snacking is what we refer as mindless hand to mouth eating.  Mindfully eating food because you're hungry is not really snacking.

In this case, we would recommend a mini meal of at least protein and fat, but ideally with protein, fat AND veggies. Hardboiled egg, some olives and snow peas maybe?  Fruit and nuts on their own (or combined) are not recommended.

Really, since you're going around 8 hours, I would recommend making that mini-meal more meal like in portion... we want meals to last for 4-5 hours... If you ate at 230, you'd be dead in the middle of that really... 

Edit : Oops typing at the same time as Ladyshanny

This seems like an appropriate place to post this.

I too have had difficulty with this eating w/in an hour of waking up!
I've been eating 100% compliant foods, but have been snacking. I feel like its ok to give myself slack in this transition time, but I recognize that my sugar dragon is the one snacking (also quitting smoking has made me want to continuously put almonds in my mouth on longer [hour+] drives).
HOWEVER,

I work 4:30 am to 12:30 pm M-F.

8a-3p Sat/sun