Night shift and no time

Katie Rin

Ok Whole30 friends,  I really want to start another Whole30, I did one this time last year and it was amazing.  But right after that I switched to a full time night shift at work.  I'm an EMT, I sit on an ambulance 48 hours a week and do NOT have access to a stove, sometimes no access to a microwave on the job and don't have Whole30 options where the hospitals sometimes feed us.  

I know all the usual tricks, whole fruits, raw veggies, nuts, almond butter, pre-make meals weeks out... but what I need are recipes.  Things I can make and freeze, that I can pull out the morning before to thaw and will keep 12 hours on a truck.  I want to have my plan laid out before I even start.  

I'm also in full time school so I don't have a ton of meal prep time, so quick or easy to put together things would be helpful too.

Yes I know I'm sounding needy

Links are great! 

Hey,

You can try cooking a whole chicken in the oven at a time.Shredding it once cooked and then freezing it in single serving packets.Spice wise you can use just salt and pepper or make it exotic if you want with some indian or mexican spice rubs and mixes.

Making sweet potato mashes and freezing them helps.

For breakfast an egg muffins or a large frittata with veggies or a crustless quiche can be cut into single serving squares and frozen.

Keep the cooking simple. I put shredded chicken and frozen veggies in the same container. Throw in some healthy fat. Salt and pepper or other spices. Cooked beef cubes and sweet potato. Do you have time to microwave lunch between calls?

• Moderators

I make a frittata on Sunday loaded with veggies and protein (usually ground pork, a metric ton of mixed veggies) baked in a 9x13 pan and then I cut a slice and take it for either breakfast or lunch. It's fine to be room temp (I don't use a microwave in my life...) and if you can get a little 'cooler' lunch bag, then it will definitely be fine.