Help Feeling Full?

I'm very new to this whole "healthy eating" thing. I'm 18 and am on day 3 of the whole30... the problem is that I've discovered that I don't digest large quantities of nuts. I've been very hungry very often and thought that maybe eating nuts from time to time would help.

Any suggestions or tips on how to stay full now that I have to stop (or greatly reduce) my nut consumption? Thanks!!

• Moderators

If you're very hungry very often, it could be that your meals aren't large enough or just aren't composed quite right. Can you give us an example of what you've eaten for a day or two, including approximate portion sizes as outlined in the meal template? Also include pre- and post-workout meals if you're working out. You can do Whole30 and never eat any nuts, you just use other fat sources instead -- olives, avocado, mayo and other sauces, fattier cuts of meat, etc.

• Moderators

First, we don't recommend large quantities of nuts... they're poorly omega 3/6 balanced and they can be, as you've found out, extremely gut disruptive.  The recommendation is for nuts to be limited... think a closed handful every other day at most.

Have you been making your meals to the template (linked below).  Increase your portion sizes of all three macros (fat, protein, veggies) until you can make it 4-5 hours between meals.

I suspect that you're not eating nearly enough.  If you'd like, list out what you've eaten with portion sizes and meal timings for the last 3 days and we can help you improve your meal composition to remove the need to snack.