Evening Workout Routine

dbrown11

I am pretty new to Whole30. I don't have time to work out during the day. I wanted to hear your thoughts on a schedule that looks like this:

Dinner: 6pm

Pre-Workout Meal: 7:45 (hard boiled egg)

Workout: 8pm

Post workout meal: 9pm (piece of chicken)

I usually like to go to bed around 11pm. Would this schedule be plausible? I just don't really have the time to workout in the morning, and would prefer to at night. 

Yeah, if I ate an egg 15mins before my workout I'd bring it back up again, but I suppose it depends on the individual.

I'd be inclined to ramp up the protein and fat at dinner, and stick with non starchy veg, then maybe add some starchy veg in with the chicken postWO - depending on the intensity of the work-out - but it MAY aide sleep with the work out being so close to bed time.

Similar issue here!  I get home from work anywhere between 7:30 and 9:00.  If its a normal night when I leave work at 7- I will eat dinner when I get home.  If I'm staying late- I will eat the meal I brought with me to the office (I always bring lunch and dinner just in case).

I try to go to the gym at 9pm for an hour to an hour and a half.  Which gets me home at 10/10:30.  I am in bed by 12.  Which doesn't leave much time for a post-workout mini meal before bed.  Anyone have recommendations? 

• Moderators
17 minutes ago, jfg729 said:

Similar issue here!  I get home from work anywhere between 7:30 and 9:00.  If its a normal night when I leave work at 7- I will eat dinner when I get home.  If I'm staying late- I will eat the meal I brought with me to the office (I always bring lunch and dinner just in case).

I try to go to the gym at 9pm for an hour to an hour and a half.  Which gets me home at 10/10:30.  I am in bed by 12.  Which doesn't leave much time for a post-workout mini meal before bed.  Anyone have recommendations?