Hi, totally new here...

Mama Pajama

Hi everyone (anyone)!  My screen name is Mama Pajama, and I'm a 49 year old single mom to a 14 year old young man.  I'm dirt poor, but I work hard at being a freelance writer, love books and movies, live music, having good times with great friends, and relaxing at home.  I'm a terrible cook, mostly because a great deal of my (thankfully small amount of) childhood trauma was centered in my mother's kitchen, around weight and food issues.  I've never really dieted - aside from a flirtation with an eating disorder when I was a teen - and have a casual relationship to exercise, having spent time doing yoga, martial arts, and belly-dancing regularly in times past, though now the only exercise I get is opening the refrigerator!  As a result of my long-standing and well established food issues, I'm currently carrying approximately 245 lbs. on my 5'2" frame, have eczema that comes and goes, many aches and pains including chronic lower back issues, a lack of energy, and a lack of contentment in the way my body looks and performs.  Four days ago, my doctor said the pre-diabetes I've been shrugging my shoulders at and ignoring is now type 2.  Needless to say, my eating habits and resulting health issues, and lack of regular exercise, are not the example I want to be setting for my son.  So here we are.  I did a self-devised 21 day 'detox' last year, and it felt great - a pleasant side-effect (weight loss was not the goal) was that I lost 15 lbs..  I bought The Whole 30 book during that time, thinking it may be of use somehow, but never read it.  I'm reading it now, and picking my 'start date' to be June 1st.  That gives me one week to get ready, get set, and go!  I'm looking forward to having a bit of support along the way.  Thanks for being here ~ 

Join Together - Copy.jpeg