Day 2: Feeling like a pack mule

I started yesterday, and I'm already seeing what's been keeping me from eating this way in the past. It's so inconvenient. I brought a big salad with me to campus to eat at lunch and I feel like a bag lady on the train. It's even worse when I have a gym bag. (I'm 5'2" with very narrow shoulders, so an amount of baggage that might not seem significant to an average sized person becomes a hassle pretty quickly.) Do most of the people who succeed on this program drive everywhere? Is this something I just need to get used to or are there tricks to maintaining some sort of commuter dignity?

On a related note, how much time to you typically spend on shopping and cooking? I'm a student in a pretty intense animation program and any time I spend cooking is time I'm not spending working on my projects. I'm holding out hope that in the medium/long term the time investment will pay back in increased energy and efficiency but, in the short term, I really feel like the responsible thing to do would be to order takeout and get back to work.

I know these may seem like whiny, insignificant problems... and that's why I'm putting them out there on a niche internet forum and not bothering the general public with them.

• Moderators

The transition is the hardest part. After you have been doing this for a while, you can accomplish everything faster and more efficiently. Whether you want to take the hit now or wait until you are older and sicker to work on your health is a decision no one can make for you. The one thing I can say is that I spend less time shopping and cooking now than I did 3 years ago when I did my first Whole30. A lot less time, and I eat very good.

I don't have anything on the topic of packing your lunch as I am out of practice, but hopefully some others will have some thoughts.

Commuter dignity - that may be my favorite new phrase!