Early Morning Breakfast help..

Ksass4

Beginning my first Whole30 tomorrow.  I feel pretty well prepared since I'm already Paleo-ish, but my biggest dilemma right now are breakfasts, and my unique but chaotic work schedule.

I work as a vendor role in surgery at various hospitals in the area.  My work schedule is never the same from week to week, but most days I start 630am. Furthermore, I may be stuck in a surgery for many hours without a break as I also work independently.  So I need something with a lot of protein/fat to keep me satiated throughout the morning/noon.  My normal go to is the 1-minute microwave mug muffins with sunbutter or meat/egg/cheese sandwich on homemade GF bread, which I know both are 'no-gos' on the whole30. 

I cannot stomach vegetable based or all-egg breakfasts that early, and need something portable as I have a bad habit of eating on the way to work (one I hope to break while doing this).  I am making a batch of Paleo Egg Carnitas Muffins from Stupid Easy Paleo tonight as a start, but need other ideas for things I can make/eat early morning. 

Any input or recommendations?  Anyone with similar work schedules - how have you dealt with this?  

Recipe link  - http://stupideasypaleo.com/2013/06/10/paleo-carnitas-egg-muffins/

Thanks!

• Moderators

Google Whole30 breakfast on the go to find past discussions on this topic.

In general, stop thinking in terms of breakfast. Anything you can have for any other meal works just fine for the first meal of the day. Meatballs, burger patties, chicken, salmon cakes, paired with whatever veggies you like -- salads, roasted vegetables, raw vegetables, this Velvety Butternut Squash, soups. Don't forget your healthy fats -- mayo, avocado, olives, coconut, or look up recipes for sauces and dips.

Google Whole30 breakfast on the go to find past discussions on this topic.