Making a recipe a WHOLE meal

rollo

Hey all -

So, I'm still pretty new to cooking and although I've been cooking for W30 over 3 weeks now, I still feel lost a lot of the time. Especially with trying something new.

There's a recipe on nom nom's site that I can't wait to try out.  (because i FINALLLLLLY will use my new slow cooker AND because it's something different than my protein + red/yellow bell pepper, bok choy, celery, carrots + avo or olives)

Anyway, here's the link.  http://nomnompaleo.com/post/8425643634/slow-cooker-cheater-pork-stew

This is supposed to be 4-6 and for vegetables has: 2 small onions, 1/2 pound baby carrots, 1 small cabbage.

I feel like for 4-6 servings, that's not enough vegetables.

Also, I'm not sure I see any thing fat that I'd be adding to this.

A lot of recipes look GREAT and i can't wait to try 'em, but I feel like I would still have to supplement the recipes.

Am I wrong?  What do you guys do?

Thanks

Rollo

• Moderators

The pork includes enough fat that you do not need to add more. The veggies in the recipe are really for taste and not to provide what you need for a meal. Personally, I usually slow cook meat all by itself and prepare my veggies separately. You can steam or roast carrots and cabbage or stir-fry greens and then put the slow cooker meat over it. Or you could add a large head of cabbage cut into wedges and 2 pounds of baby-cut carrots. 

Thanks.  I'm trying to quicken the cooking process, so I can just reheat some stuff later in the week.  Since the vegetables aren't enough, I'll have to plan ahead for that.

I also need to learn when I need to add fat and when I don't need to add it, apparently. :)

Thanks

Rollo