Wyoming 30-something goes Whole30

sepurdy

I'm a 34 yr old mother of two kids - 4.5 yo girl and an almost 2 yo boy. Married to my high school sweetheart for almost 12 years now. I've been doing Crossfit for about 7 months and absolutely love it.

Why I'm here:

- I eat relatively healthy. Cut out soda about 6 months ago, no fast food, healthy snacks. My weakness are chocolate, red wine and carbs (pita chips, bread, baked goods). I know that my hard work in the gym is being negated by the cheat food I'm eating.

- I want to eat more veggies and protein. I struggle to do this and instead fill up on unnecessary carbs.

- My C-Reactive Protein levels have been high for years. Doctor usually waves them off as no big deal, but seriously? It's a sign of inflammation around the heart, an indicator of possible heart disease - which is what killed my father and grandfather, and mine are double to triple the recommended max. That scares me!

- My scale hasn't really changed much in the 7 months I've been doing Crossfit, although I know I've gained a lot of muscle. I'd like to see some other numbers change!

This morning, day 1, I started the day with a weigh in, body comp and blood draw. Then, in 30 days, I'll go back and do it all again. I'd love to see the weight change but I'd be happy if any of the numbers move a positive direction. I'm looking forward to more energy, sleeping better, and seeing stronger results in the gym.

Concerns/fears:

- I'm doing this alone. Everyone in my house will still be eating their normal stuff. That's going to be challenging.

- Time. Prep will be key for me and I'm going to need to make myself - and this challenge - a priority.

- Cravings. Again, since all of the cheat foods will still be around me, handling cravings will be a challenge.

All in all, I'm super excited to be starting this and am looking forward to the changes!

Thanks for your support!

Good for you!  Welcome and I wish you a good whole 30!