Preparing for the adventure of a life time

laodamaren

Hey fellow whole30'ers!

This would mark the first time I do a whole30 (even though it will turn out to be more of a whole60).
I am currently a student at the Technical University of Delft, The Netherlands and I am working hard to get my degree in Mining Engineering. It's tough, challenging and totally worth the effort. Now - I have been hypothyroid for years due to an impaired gut and overall fatigue (had a burn-out, suffered from anxiety,..) and slowly it has stabilised, leaving me feeling happy and healthy right now. I've been eating a paleo diet for most of the time, given that it improved my gut so much, but the reason of going from there to a full Whole30 lifestyle is much more profound.

Basically, 2 things.
First of all, I am quitting my thyroid hormones (slowly, steadily) as my doctor recommended because my values are perfect right now and there's no reason for me to stay on hormonal treatment. YAY! To make this go as smoothly as possible, because obviously certain organs need to start waking up again, I think the Whole30 will keep me hormonally balanced the most.
Secondly, I am a traveller at heart, but those months of physical illness didn't allow me to travel much. I have well compensated by now, but a few weeks ago I did something I had been dreaming of for years: I booked a flight to Kazakhstan, for a month of trekking through it as well as Uzbekistan. I am OVERLY excited and my adventurous spirit is very thankful for this decision I made :P
(If you're curious, I also hold a travel blog where you can follow these adventures - huntingrarities.wordpress.com)