So I am on day 18 of my first whole30 and so far I have enjoyed it. Although I have noticed that at times I am lacking energy. The problem is this, I am a student and have a few huge final papers due in the next few weeks and some all nighters will most likely need to be pulled. I do not drink coffee, and usually drink soda instead to help with staying awake and snack on some sugary treats. Clearly this is not whole30 acceptable. I am thinking about giving up on the whole 30 (still following everything with the exception of allowing my soda/candy in minimal amounts for studying) because I don't want to interrupt my study grove. Although I don't want to give up on the whole 30 either. 

Help!

• Moderators

I am able to go without sleep when necessary without any caffeine. Caffeine may help some, but you don't absolutely have to have it. That said, you can get caffeine pills or drink strongly brewed black or green teas.

This has a lot to do with what you are eating. Before I was doing whole30 I was doing a ketosis diet - which is basically high fat low carb, akin to the early phases of Atkins or Southbeach. One of the main symptoms just starting out on this diet is a "foggy" feeling with lethargy and lack of energy. In general its caused from the crash of coming off eating carbs constantly. So, I have to ask:

What are you eating? Are you eating enough fat? Are you eating enough *period*? Healthy foods can be a lot less calorically dense than their less-healthy counterparts. You could eat an entire plate of veggies and still have consumed under 200 calories, so its easy to under-eat on a diet like this.

Bulletproof coffee also comes to mind. It's a cup of black coffee with a spoonful of coconut oil in it. The caffeine helps perk you up and the coconut oil gives your body some fat to burn for energy - win win.