Two first timers - Whole30 Log

Mark Hargreaves

So...I've never done anything like this before. I've made some rather paltry attempts at lifestyle change; I did stop drinking soda for about 6 months, until my great nemesis, the Buffalo Rock Ginger Ale reappeared. But like this? Nothing at all like this crazy diet (I say this lovingly, really I do). 

But here I am. A good friend of mine, who sadly now lives on the other side on the country started a whole 30 about 3 weeks ago and told me about it. He's doing well now, feeling the effects of the good food, focused and just much better.

So I starting researching. Read ISWF cover to cover, and made plans. I have 4 roommates and an enormous variety of schedules. I work a mostly standard daytime office job - geriatric social work, particularly avoiding hospital readmissions. Fen - the roommate who's on board with me is a small business owner - he runs a hobby shop and works all manner of odd hours and long weeks. Roommate 2 (we'll keep him anonymous) was the reason I waited so long to start. I had hopes he's do this too, as he's seriously considering gastric bypass surgery in the spring. He's convinced he can't handle the Whole30, though, and no amount of convincing got us anywhere. So...I'm just leading by example.

It means a lot of additional challenge. There’s tempting snack food everywhere, and my attempts to move it out of sight have been less then successful (this is mostly due to roommates 3 & 4, otherwise minor players in our story) - so here goes a real challenge of my self-control. So I've come here to share, chat and maybe get some encouragement, since I'm a newbie in a challenging situation.

I'm actually writing this at the end of Day 2, so I'll be playing catch up on meals and moods in this post.

Day 1