Hi! I'm new to all this and planning to start Whole30 for the first time next week.

I just want to be clear. If I workout in the morning, say 5:30 AM. According to the program I am to have a pre-workout snack, then go workout, then have a post-workout snack, then have breakfast, then lunch, then dinner.

For those who workout in the morning, it just seems like a lot of food in the morning? Like 5:15 AM pre-workout, say 6:45 post-workout, 7 AM breakfast... But then figure lunch isn't until noon and then dinner isn't until 7.

Am I on the right track or missing something?

• Moderators

You are on the right track. The issue is that the demands of training warrant bonus meals; you need more calories when you workout.

The purpose of pre-workout meals is not to fuel a workout, but rather to signal the body to prepare to release energy. By eating as little as a boiled egg or two (protein and fat), your body gets a hormonal signal that helps your body get up to speed.

The purpose of the post-workout meal is to get protein to hungry muscles during the brief window they are especially receptive right after exercise. That window is open 15 to 30 minutes maybe, so you typically need to eat where you train. To keep digestion moving quickly, you need to avoid/minimize fat in the post-workout meal. Carbs in a post-workout meal are optional.

I played around with timing a little bit and I think what I'll do is when I workout early in the morning, of course do pre-workout snack, workout and then post-workout snack, but then wait until 10:30 AM to eat my breakfast, 2:30 PM to eat my lunch and 7:00 PM to eat my dinner. I really think that's the only way to do it... That way 7 hours isn't going by where I'm famished.

• Moderators