Whole 30 and Arthritis

I did my Whole 30 a month ago. About twenty days in, I got a REALLY bad flare-up of arthritis. It was terrible, but I finished my ten days. Has anyone experienced a recurrence of symptoms while on the program?

I'm no medical expert but I've heard of arthritis being treated by diet. Most the items we eliminate on Whole30 are eliminated, but there are some additional acidic items such as tomatoes & citrus fruits which are also eliminated.

Were you eating a lot of either?

• 2 weeks later...

I just started on August 1st and have had a lot of stiffness in the am.  I have been trying not to take naproxen but this morning I had to because I really couldn't walk and I had to go to work. 

I am hoping that this is inflammation working itself out of my body as I transition from sugar burning to fat burning.  Other than that I am feeling good (except for all of the dishes).

I had a horrific flare up earlier this week after eating a baked potato...I think it was the skin as I'd eaten the flesh in the last few months without issues.

It is possible for something that is generally ok on whole30 to affect your body negatively

I hope it gets better soon

• 2 weeks later...

Following Whole30 is not a cure for arthritis although some people have said it has helped them. When I did my first Whole30, I had less flare-ups but I still had them.  But, I was also eating nightshades.  People who have found relief may have decreased or omitted nightshades unintentionally. This time around, I have noticed my flare-ups lessen when I don't eat them. If you want more info about nightshades, google Autoimmune Protocol (AIP) or go to http://www.thepaleomom.com/autoimmunity/the-autoimmune-protocol for more info on how nightshades can affect your immune system.

First of all I love your avatar - beautiful.