What if I CAN'T ride my own bike?

Jane Coaston

i'm having a lot of issues post-whole30 (mind ended on the 1st). since then, i celebrated my 25th birthday by eating as much sugar as possible, then staying solidly paleo until the next time i encountered sugar (yesterday.)

i get so panicked when i go off whole30, like all of the weight i've lost and improvements i made will just up and vanish. i'm the smallest i've ever been in my life - around a 6/8. ten years ago, i was a 270lb high school student who never left the house and ate pounds of pasta by herself. i lost a lot of weight in college, but paleo is what really helped, and the stricter i was, the more weight i lost.

the thing is, i don't want to binge anymore. it makes me feel sick and think terribly about myself. i feel like i need to take on whole30 on a permanent basis. but at the same time, i know i need to learn how to eat without being on a "plan."

help?

I don't think there is anything wrong with eating "on-plan" permanently. I make a concerted effort to continue to eat according to the plan at most meals. Not EVERY meal, but most meals. I'd say we eat something off-plan 2-3 times a week now. We always feel "off" afterwards and it's nice to be able to pin-point it to a specific food. I'm totally ok with not having grains now-each time I've had them since finishing our whole30 in July, I've felt crappy. Dairy? Cheese doesn't seem to bother me, but milk/cream is not so good. No problem. I've grown to love coconut milk in my coffee. That's cool. Sadly, this applies to ice cream too... :(