White Potatoes. We're frenemies.

Sharing my experiences with white potatoes in case anyone else might need help troubleshooting.

White potatoes taste yummy and are great for adding variety (plus sweet potatoes have just gotten too sweet for me over the years). I've been eating Paleo for 3-4 years and have several W30 and a W90 under my belt. I typically easy very close to W30 most of the time because it makes me feel awesome, I found I don't tolerate most things very well (even white rice etc which is typically not a problem for most), and it makes my eczema disappear.

For the last several months I've been enjoying white potatoes mixed in with my typical W30 compliant meals: diced and fried in ghee with Brussels sprouts, served in a kale & sausage soup, etc. It took me a while to pin point it, but 1-2 weeks after eating the white potatoes my eczema would come back with a vengeance and spread very quickly. Also, over the last 2 months I've noticed the white potatoes mess with my gut causing discomfort and made me feel full all the time (ie, I'd have them for breakfast and wouldn't feel hungry for the rest of the day. Even if I would eat when not hungry in these instances, the food would not be palatable and I'd only get about 1/2 a meal down). I even did a self-experiment and as the quantity of potatoes increased, the symptoms increased manifold. Remove the potatoes and the symptoms go away. 3 days away from the white P's and my skin has healed dramatically!

Yes, white potatoes are in the nightshade family and eczema is also typically exacerbated by the nightshades. But over the years I've done normal W30's (pre-white potatoes) and never had an issue with tomatoes, peppers, or other AIP items included in my diet. For some reason, the white potatoes put me way over the edge.