Snacking and Caloric Intake

40isthenew30

I'm very new to the program.  I'm wondering if there is a daily caloric intake I should follow.  If I'm a member of Real Plan and want to make sure I don't go over the amount of food I'm supposed to eat daily.  

Questions:

- Can I snack? 

- How much can I snack?

- Are there a certain number of calories per day?

Hi 40! I'm new to this too! In my research leading up to doing a Whole30, one of the key points they talk about is specifically not counting calories during the Whole30. The program is about changing your relationship with food and your attitude towards eating- it's about making a lifestyle change instead of specifically going on a "diet" for a set amount of time. 

With regards to snacking specifically, what I've read says that since part of Whole 30 is re-evaluating your relationship with eating food they encourage you to evaluate why you want to snack in the first place- is it to fulfill a craving? Is it because you've conditioned your brain to want a snack at the same time every day? Is it because your meals are too small and don't tide you over until the next meal?

If you haven't already, I highly highly highly encourage you to read the book "The Whole30: The 30-Day Guide to Total Health and Food Freedom". I think it's the second book in the Whole30 series? It talks in detail about how to go about doing the plan and your goals during and after! If you've already got it, go back and check in it for the specific sections on snacking, as that's where I'm getting my info from :)