Excessive gas, I’m getting worried

Anniemarie

Hi, I have a rather embarrasing question. I am in my second round of Whole 30, I did my first round last month and plan to do it for 90 days. 

I know excessive gas is common with high fiber foods, but my gas problem seems to be getting much worse not better. I’ve been avoiding Brussels sprouts and other really high fiber vegetables but the problem seems to be unchanged. 

The gas is really really really bad. Like every five minutes and it’s loud and smelly. I also feel really bloated. I’ve been doing research and found that gut flora often needs time to adjust. But my question is, after 6 weeks on the whole 30 shouldn’t my flora have adjusted by now?! I’m very concerned that this problem won’t stop and I really don’t know what I’m going to do. I love the diet and feel so much healthier but I can’t keep it up if this awful side effect persists. 

• Moderators

Some gas and bloating early on is pretty normal, but yes, for most people, it would be settling down by now, although if it's an issue you've been dealing with for some time before Whole30, it could take longer to resolve, or might be indicative of an issue you need to talk to a doctor about.

If you're having carbonated beverages, definitely try cutting them out for a while and see if they help, they definitely cause issues for some people. If you're eating a lot of nuts and seeds, you might try switching to some other fat source instead for a while and see if that helps, as they can cause digestive issues for people.