I finished my first Whole30 a couple weeks ago, prior to that I was eating Primally with a dessert or glass of wine on occasion.

I went for my annual physical and lab work was ordered. I was actually looking forward to the results, but instead I am totally freaked out. :o

FBS - 87

Total Cholesterol - 413

TRIG - 60

HDL - 99

VLDL - 12

LDL - 302

Last time I had the values checked, about 3 years ago, they were normal, HDL was about 60, TRIG 40, LDL 101 and TC about 160 (estimated from what I remember).

I have to get these rechecked next week. I'm also going to request TSH, LDL particle size testing, and Vitamin D. My parents have been taking statins for as long as I remember, but they eat standard American diet. Any advice? Should I continue with the Paleo diet?

I am no expert in this area so I'm sure other that know way more than me will chime in... IMHO, I believe wholeheartedly that a paleo/primal diet is the healthiest way to go so I would definitely stick with it.

I'm sure it was but...was it fasting blood work? I've heard that a heavily fatted meal prior (even the night before) to lipid tests can cause really high readings like yours...I don't blame you at all for being freaked out, I would have reacted the same way! I definitely would have the blood work repeated...but I'm anxious to hear what the more educated on the subject have to say... Good Luck!

I am not a doctor so to be responsible people we need to say to listen to yours above anything we say...but I'm pretty sure statins aren't known to actually help women and lot of people think the only reason they work at all is because they reduce inflammation not because they lower cholesterol. They also have some nasty side effects. Chriss Kresser and Chris Masterjohn are my go-to sources for all things cholesterol. Might wanna give these a listen:

part 1

http://chriskresser.com/the-healthy-skeptic-podcast-episode-11

part 2