Kaleena's Whole30 Log!

Kaleena

I'm starting this on day 4. I don't plan on posting daily menus just how I'm feeling and maybe the odd meal if it was particularly good.

Here's my story:

I'm a former personal trainer but when I quit the fitness business, started writing as a profession and began dance training almost every day of the week, my diet started to get lazier and nastier. Over the course of the past 6 months my energy levels have gone down, my pimples have increased and I feel pretty wonky from the inside out.

Finally, after 10 days straight of drinking and eating crap over the holidays I thought I'd try this Whole30 thing. What is unique about my Whole30 is that I'm a vegetarian who heavily relies on dairy and soy for protein. I also don't eat enough fat. I've been using sweeteners for about a year in coffee and syrup.

When I was in India back in April I tried fish for the first time and decided that for the Whole30 I would try fish for a month. So there's a lot of new stuff going on for me here. So far here are my negative experiences:

-I'm having a hard time getting used to savory breakfasts. I ate "protein pancakes" or egg whites, oatmeal and raw honey for breakfast for a loong time. Yesterday I couldn't stomach the idea of eggs, fish or greens and ate a plantain with macadamia nut butter. It set me up for a day of craving sweet. Although I ate nothing outside of the compliant foods, it didn't feel right. Today was fine.

-I miss cream in my coffee and a glass of milk at night! Coconut milk in my coffee has been nasty and I'm slowly getting used to coconut water as my other than water drink.

-On day 2 and 3 I felt wretched! I think it was the after-holiday hangover combined with cutting out the sweeteners and sugar. Ick!

THE GOOD

-I feel more vital ALREADY!

-I'm sleeping better

-I'm fuller between meals.

-I'm cutting back on coffee

-Libido is up.