Portable Protein ... this is frustrating.

It's easy to find portable fat, and even easier to find portable carbs. But for days when you have to be on the go, I see no way to eat protein without also carrying around a cooler. I thought I had found a solution in the Larabars that are the "protein" kind, but apparently pea protein is also out. What do you do for portable protein?

Pretty annoyed right now because while I've devoted the last 18 days solid to this, school is starting (I'm a teacher) and this is not feasible unless you're full-time in the kitchen. 

** edit:

Part of my frustration is that I feel this has helped me so much that I'd rather just live this way. But it's impossible. Why should eating the way that's best for me be impossible?

• Moderators

Compliant jerky, Epic bars, or similar -- there are some on the Whole30 Approved page, but there may be other compliant version available at your local grocery store, or online. Cans of salmon or tuna or other fish (and maybe even canned chicken, though this seems harder to find). RXBars are not ideal, they're still pretty fruit-heavy, but they do have egg whites in them. 

There are insulated lunch bags in a variety of sizes, you might be able to find something that wouldn't be quite as bulky as a cooler but would still hold at least your protein to give you more options. 

You could also go kind of the other way, instead of trying to keep food cool, get a thermos, fill it with soup or stew or chili or something similar, and keep it warm until you need it. There are even small crockpots, if you have a place to plug them in, that can keep food warm. 

• Moderators
41 minutes ago, alvastarr said:

Pretty annoyed right now because while I've devoted the last 18 days solid to this, school is starting (I'm a teacher) and this is not feasible unless you're full-time in the kitchen