First Whole30, On the right track?

Emily Martin

I'm really excited to be starting today, especially as I haven't gone more than a week without a glass of wine in probably fifteen years. I've been doing a good job of keeping away from potatoes for a few months, grains, sugar and legumes since the new year. So I'm really now cutting the booze (which I definitely over-indulge in!!) and the dairy. As much as I love cheeses and drink milk in my tea, I think that going tea-total will be the toughest, and most important omission from my diet.

I'm also incorporating intermittent fasting, which I've been doing for five months, but I'm easin up on that a little during the 30 days, sticking with just reducing my 'feeding window' to about six hours a day.

If anyone has advice or experience they'd like to share, I'm all ears, as this is my first Whole 30. So far it's been easy, but that may be because I kind of built up to starting?

hey Emily, congrats and welcome to the whole 30!

You say you are going to "ease up" on intermittent fasting during your whole30, but I'm not sure you know that IF is actually not acceptable during the plan at all. Please don't limit yourself to a 6 hour "feeding window" but follow the plan as written. IF will be there for future experimentation once your 30 days are complete.

Missmary is right. Think of your body as a car. To run at peak efficiency, and get the most out of it, you have to keep it fueled. You can let it run totally out of gas and then try and start it up again, but it usually takes some effort to get enough in the line to make it purr along smoothly again. To make the most of your time, you need to refuel it before it runs dry. A stoked metabolism will keep chugging along so long as it doesn't see a potential famine coming. You send mixed messages to your body and brain when you try to combine two different philosophies of eating. You will have much more success following the plan as written.

• Moderators