how will i live without gum?

art cabana jojo

I am starting my very first whole 30 tomorrow.. i have wanted to do this since i read about it several months ago but kept looking for the perfect 30 day window between parties and events... figured the day after valentine's day until st. patrick's day seemed doable. I have been off work recovering my rotator cuff surgery and over the past 3 months have managed to put on ELEVEN pounds... i have tried to lose it,.... losing a few pounds over a couple weeks and then gaining them back after a weekend of festivities... then back to fasting and exercising and counting carbs... and i think my body just needs a reset... back to my roots of eating real food... mostly plants.. not too much!

I have been eating paleo for about 18 months so the no grains and legumes will not be an issue... i do eat dairy.. so giving up the splash of cream in my coffee will be interesting... i was going to say HARD but when i read the rules it clearly states that drinking my coffee black is. not. hard. i also adore my cheeses and yogurt and sour cream... life will go on...

My obstacles:

GUM... i chew gum all day long.. well not all the time.. i put a piece in... chew for 5 minutes or so... spit it out... and then about 15-30 minutes later i put in another piece... chew for 5 or so minutes and repeat... ALL DAY LONG... like a chain smoker only gum... so this will be quite a challenge for me to not chew gum for 30 days... because of the xylitol and other added BS... acesfulme K... can't be good for me. not sure how i will deal with making sure i have fresh breath... i have a fear that i will have bad breath i guess... maybe i will just take my toothbrush every where i go and brush often... gargle??? i will figure something out.