unsweetened iced tea?

Sorry if this is a repeat - the forums won't let me search for the word "tea" beacuse it's only 3 characters! Anyway, I'm new to this (one week into my Whole30) and I've been drinking a lot of my own home-brewed unsweetened decaf iced tea as an alternative to just having water. That's Whole30 compliant, right?

Tea has soy too??? :o I need to check my boxes tonight!

Yeah that's how I felt!! A lot of teas have them. You can get some clean herbal teas. Soy is in a LOT of stuff. I wanted to get some olive oil cooking spray from TJs yesterday but it has soy lecithin in it, so I just put a little oil in the pan and brush it around :)

Another problem with packaged iced teas is how the teas are made. Packaged teas are typically brewed in large batches than spray dried...meaning, they are blown by hot gases until most of the liquid (largely water) evaporates and a powder of the tea remains. This process creates an unfavorable change in how the tea tastes.

An artificial additive called maltodextrin is often added to the tea powder. Maltodextrin is essentially a set of simple sugars made from processing the heck out of corn starch. It serves two purposes...one is to provide just enough sweetness to the palate to balance off any acrid taste that was accrued by the spray drying of tea. The second is to facilitate mixing the tea in cold water. Maltodextrin sucks up water in to its molecules like a sponge, literally, which helps the tea blend in water.