Insights and further questions after my holiday season

Anita

I have been eating Paleo (whatever you want to call it) for about 17 months. May '12 I did a Whole30. September - November '12 I did a Whole60. Aside from health/digestive issues, I have been trying to find a way to lose excess fat I've slowly put on in the last few years. After my Whole60 I really didn't add much back, in an attempt to lose weight. I've determined that I can't really restrict my food a lot more than I already am, and it's about more exercise. I'm also 51 now, so I feel like my body is fighting me even harder to keep weight on. I'm a bit lost about what exactly to do.

I have now gotten back up to 5 days of exercise a week after several years of only 3. That seems to be helping. A friend has gotten great results after about 2 months of a Superslow/Power of 10 type of training. I can't really afford more expenditure on exercise, but I think I may do 2-3 months with a trainer in this style, then maybe join a really cheap gym to continue on my own.

I think stress is a significant factor in my weight/health, but unless I can change my job, I don't see what more I can do to manage that stress.

I did go off-track over the holidays. I was good for a really long time. One of my favorite restaurants was catering my work holiday party and that was to be my big indulgence. It was a sit-down dinner. I got there after cocktail hour. We all found that the food amount was so minimal, we were starving after dinner. We actually considered going to a restaurant to eat. haha. Anyway, that was the trigger for me. I felt "deprived" of my indulgent meal, so I continued to indulge. It became the "just one more thing before I go back to the strictness" pattern of thinking. I made myself pretty sick (digestion) and really bloated.