Problem: Evening workout / Snacks before bed

Angelina

Hi everyone,

I'm starting the Whole30 on Monday. I'm also starting work on Monday.

My problem is that I work as a yoga teacher, and my classes are in the evenings.

For the last five years I've taught classes four nights a week. I've been in the habit of eating a decent, healthy snack, or maybe having a carrot/apple/celery juice around 6.00pm, and then eating a big salad (warm months) or hearty soup (cold months) when I get home around 10pm. Then bed around 10.30pm.

Having read about how this may have been messing with my leptin levels, blocking the release of growth hormones (and contributing to my inflammation and those connective tissues just never healing?), and pushing up insulin levels etc, I'm wondering how I should manage this.

I'm worried that if I even if I eat a good protein/fat/vegetable meal around 6pm, I'll still be ravenous when I get home after a teaching a dynamic class.

Does anyone else have an evening work-out like this? Is there anything I can eat before going to bed which won't mess me up?

Would love to know how others are managing their night-time eating habits, I'm worried about going to bed hungry!

Thanks,

Angelina

• Moderators

Eat a full meal after you get home and then stay up another two hours before going to bed. Basically, shift your sleep/life schedule to more fully accommodate your work schedule. 

I can't fall asleep when I am hungry, so if I can't eat until bedtime, I eat and then go to bed. Sometimes I get away with it and sometimes my sleep is disturbed by not having some digestion time before I lay down. That is why I recommend giving yourself two hours after eating before going to bed. 

Eat a full meal after you get home and then stay up another two hours before going to bed. Basically, shift your sleep/life schedule to more fully accommodate your work schedule.