Whole30 fail ... made it 4 days

bepsue

I started a Whole30 on August 18. I am new to the concept but read all of the manifestos, rules, etc. and did great August 18, 19 and 20.

On the 21st, a Friday, I had brought some leftover salmon for lunch and when I heated it up, it dried out a lot and I couldn't choke it down. So, I had no protein for lunch. Long story short, by the time I got home from work that evening, I was so ravenous that I literally felt like I was losing my mind. I wolfed down a bowl of Cheerios with milk, and that was pretty much the end of my Whole30.

Fast-forward to today. I'd like to try again. Does anyone have any tips on avoiding the scenario above?

I could also use some advice on what to eat for Meal 1. I'm not sure I can bring myself to swallow another egg, even though I like them. A girl can only eat so many eggs.

Also, I have a 19-month-old and a husband who is always knee-deep in a project, meaning most of our daughter's care falls to me. His projects are worthwhile (usually renovating our house) and I love spending time with my daughter, but I'm seriously strapped for time and I am feeling discouraged that I can ever manage to plan in advance enough to complete an entire Whole30.

• Administrators

Hi bepsue,

The main trick to avoiding cheerios and milk being your fall-on meal when this sort of thing happens is to either make enough food that you always have leftovers in the fridge or run through this scenario before you start and mentally practice what you will choose. Did you have canned salmon or sardines in the cupboard? Could you have scrambled some eggs in less than 2 minutes? Could you have eaten an apple to take the edge off so that you could take a breath and think about making a meal? I suspect that cheerios was not your only option....but that your brain kicked a stink and you didn't have a plan in place for how you might handle such a situation.