Alcohol Post Whole30

czrider

OK, I must be the only alkie on the forum...... :wub:  :ph34r: . I am so looking forward to having a cocktail or two on DAY 30.   Does anyone have any suggestions on how to drink alcohol post Whole30?   I'm a retired teacher and my friend and I drink LOTS of wine. And I love my Jack Daniels.   What is the best (least damaging) alcohol suggested.   ANYONE?

I"m on day 28 now.  I've loved the program (excuse me.....life style)).   I want to be a Whole30 junkie, but I need to add alcohol... any advice???   And please don't tell me I'm on the wrong forum LOL...  

Happy Whole30ing to all!!!! :) Loved it.  Gonna do it again. Thinking every other month.... :D

• Moderators

I don't know that there's any alcohol that's less bad overall. It's something you want to pay attention to in your reintroductions. Some people find some varieties of red wine give them headaches. If you react to gluten during reintros you may want to avoid beer. You really just have to figure out what's worth it to you.

Also consider that people sometimes find that having a drink or two causes them to make poor choices with the food they're eating. That's a reaction you'd want to pay attention to and consider when deciding whether that drink is worth it.

You could google whole30 alcohol and see how this has been discussed before, because I know it has been. You're not the only one to be wanting wine on day 31.

• Moderators

my friend and I drink LOTS of wine. And I love my Jack Daniels.   What is the best (least damaging) alcohol suggested.   

Please note as others have said that there are things with alcohol that may used to have not bothered you before (or that you didn't notice) but with a cleaner system, booze and you might not mix as well.

Some people report:

rashes (from the sulfites in wine)

terrible sleep (sometimes for days afterward)

headaches

bloating for days afterwards

the blues/mild depression/feelings of sadness