too much protein?

Beccy Lee

Hello, I am new to this sort of diet (about 2weeks in), and after a rough first week i was starting to feel really good! Today I am feeling rather sick. I had a dream last night that I was accidentally eating icecream and awoke with a belly ache. It made me think of how I am eating a lot of meat/fish/eggs, and now I am wondering am I eating too much protein? How much is too much? I know that I am supposed to eat 1-2 palm size servings of meat per meal. I probably am eating closer to 1.5-2 palm-sized servings just so that I am not starving throughout the day. I am generally spacing out my meals across a 12 hour time span because of my job. I usually eat breakfast around 8 am and dinner around 8 pm(sometimes later), with lunch falling somewhere between 1 and 3:30. I have been also trying very hard to fill the rest of my plate with veggies. I usually do not snack between meals, but sometimes I am so famished that I eat a handful of nuts or olives. I am 5'9", female, and weigh about 145lbs. I almost always feel hungry within 2 hours of eating. I have read on other sites that one should be eating 1 gram of protein per pound of body weight per day. That is only 5.1oz or less than a third of a pound a day!! I would die of starvation!! Well, not really, but I would be soooo hungry all day long!! Can anyone give me a guideline (in grams or ounces ) of how much protein I should be eating? Or let me know if I am eating too much? Oh, and as far as workouts go, I go on a 1/2 hr walk about 5 times a week and play disc golf(burning roughly 700-900 calories over a 2-3 hr span of hiking and throwing a disc in the mountains of WV) about 2-3 times a week. Ok, sorry this post is so long. I just figured the more info i give, the better the replies might be.