I am the enemy.

TheNameIsNuwanda

I have a confession to make. I am the enemy. You see, I am a pastry cook in a fine dining restaurant and hotel. I entered this profession at the age of 25 with all the best intentions. I truly do love the craftsmanship, history and culture inherent in food. I chose to work specifically in pastry because I was more competent with those skills, and, I admit I'm quite good. What I'm not good at is managing my stress. I've never really learned coping mechanisms that don't involve a tub of ice cream, a bottle of wine, or a package of cookies. Due to the stress level of this kind of work in addition to the fact that "food" is literally everywhere, well, my habits have landed me with 20 extra pounds on my frame.

Enter Whole30. I'm in desperate need of some reformation. I've been diligently reading and studying the paleo-minded nutrition. My best friend ditched gluten in the summer and has seen numerous health benefits. I've known this is what I need for a long time, but I've been timid to act on it. Ultimately, I'm trying to learn how to love myself. This seems like such a Western concept. Just typing it feels silly, but it is also sadly true. I reckon I can't just flip the switch to "on", but I can begin making decisions that will create more pride in myself. Whole 30 is a good place to start.

In addition to this program I am also incorporating exercise and meditation.

Here's what Day 1 looked like:

Slept through breakfast because I wasn't home from work until almost 2:00 due to the holiday.

Lunch: 2 eggs scrambled in duck fat with tumeric.

Snack: Spoonfull of coconut butter

Dinner: Roasted cauliflower soup with two slices bacon.

Beverages: Coffee, water with lemon, sparkling water, herbal tea

I was off work today, so it was easy as... cake? No, no, easy as bacon.