Tasha30's 1st Timer Food Log

Tasha30

Hello everyone!

This is my very first attempt at Whole30 and I started today! Sorry for the super long post!

A little background on me is that I am a 30 year old (as of Aug, 6th) graduate student who is in my last year of my Doctor of Physical Therapy program. I have eaten almost exclusively processed and sugar laden foods for most of my life as I was a VERY picky eater up until I did a 3 month study abroad in France in 2015. My family lives off of microwave dinners, pizza, McDonalds, Taco Bell, Arbys, and Burger King so I have no idea how to really cook. I'm pretty sure the only reason I'm not overweight/obese is because of my faulty hunger cues (more on that later).

My palate has expanded since my time in France and I am eating a wider variety of foods than before, but my diet is still heavily processed since I'm a poor college student, I have poor cooking skills, and processed food is cheap. I also have an enormous sugar dragon that is going to make this VERY difficult. I decided to go on the Whole30 because my life has been lived in constant fatigue and I'm probably a form of malnourished; my weight is normal for my height, and I don't look malnourished, but the constant fatigue, sluggishness, brain fog, few and far between hunger cues, barely managed anemia, and other unpleasantness that I feel indicates that I probably am. I'm tired all the time and I feel like my short term memory is very poor which has been making my time in my doctoral program especially difficult. My blood pressure has also gone through the roof since starting the program (160/100 at the highest) and that's a stroke down the line if I don't get it under control. I'm hoping that I will see improvement in my energy, mental clarity, anemia, and blood pressure first and foremost with improvements in my body composition and acne as bonuses.