Smoothies vs soup

coloradojg

Smoothies are fruit slurpees and almost always have a great deal of fruit sugars...even if it's a green smoothie. An over abundance of fruit sugars will jack your blood sugar up and not in a good way.

Soups are primarily vegetables and most people add protein to a soup.  Vegetable beef and so on. 

Smoothies are like baby food for adults.  No chewing and very little satiety. Same can be said for baby food pouches.  

I'm still new to this, but I've been using puréed vegetable soups as a side to my protein and other veggies. Mostly at "breakfast" (if you would have told my ten years younger self that, I most definitely would not have believed you, lol). So I am still chewing some other things at the same time. If I am really thinking I crumble some protein or roasted squash seeds onto the soup too. Yum. (Actually, if you had told me ten months ago that I would willingly enjoy a soup without crackers, I would have fainted).

I didn't mention veggies because my posts would be too long but your right. it might not look good to others who might not assume that if include veggies.. I've always heard asparagus goes well with eggs. Haven't ventured into frittatas yet but on another note I made mayo side last night for the first time.

This summer I took my left over chilled soups that i would have served in a bowl...(carrot/ginger/kale coup)  froze it onto popsicle sticks and had a great fast ice cold nutritious lunch I could grab on our way out the door on a steamy hot day 

I would have also poured it ice cold into a cup and drank it as a breakfast

It wasnt a substitute for a frozen sweet treat... it was a fast meal on the go

When I know I am making a pureed veggie soup for dinner and pre-make it in the am to heat through later.. I will grab a cup of it cold for breakfast with a few hard boiled eggs and a banana on my way out the door  (as I am more often then not... forced to eat on the go most mornings)