At-home workout advice

JJB

The fact that I am posting in the athletes forum is laughable…but I thought this would be a good place to get some exercise recommendations. I have been working out regularly for about 12 years now, but I must admit I'm not great at pushing myself to increase performance, or weights, or endurance…often I know I am guilty of “phoning it in,†and as long as I work up a sweat I think I must not be doing too terrible. I would like to step it up a notch, since I'm properly fueling my body now.

I'm looking for some advice for at home workouts. I used to go to a gym and use the weight machines, but they closed and there is not another reasonably-priced gym that is close to me. CrossFit is out – it's way too expensive. Honestly I'm not really a group workout kind of person anyway.

My goals: lose 5-8 pounds (or at least one size, for you scale haters!) and eventually be able to do real, big-girl pushups! I would love to tone my abs as well.

My schedule: I work 12-hour shifts so I will not exercise on work days. That leaves between 2 and 4 consecutive days to exercise, depending on how busy I am with school. I can accommodate 30-60 min most days.

My equipment: I have a treadmill, 5 and 8 pound hand weights, a large stability ball, and various workout DVDs: Jillian Michael's 30 Day Shred (only 20 min, but fairly challenging for me), various Tae Bo, the original P90, and some Pilates workouts (love Ellen Barrett!). I am willing to invest another $100+ on new equipment/DVDs.