Epic Poached Egg FAIL

Jinkse21

I woke up this morning all excited to make my first poached eggs (as much as I love to cook, I can't believe this is my first attempt at it!).....it was just.horrible! I put the eggs in using a little cup..pretty....then white stuff spread everywhere! The method I found said to put a cover on and turn off the heat and leave for 4 minutes. I didn't leave it on that long and I am glad I didn't but they still got over-cooked. One broke in the pan so the did not make it onto the plate but it did make into my mouth! :D. Guess I need to find another method!

However, I quickly got over that when I covered it with some freshly made hollandaise thanks to my new best friend, the immersion blender! It turn out thicker than I thought it would but it's still yummy!

Hollandaise, wild mushrooms, a slice of beef liver and the failed poached eggs are a distant memory! ;)

Sometimes I poach my eggs on top of steamed greens, not in a steamer just a regular saucepan. Cook the greens a few mins in small amt. of water or broth, make an indent for the egg, each egg gets its own indent. Cover and simmer 3-4 mins or until eggs are done how you like them. I then carefully, using a large slotted spoon, ease the whole thing onto a plate so as not to break the yolk yet. I am almost neurotic about getting the white cooked but the yolk runny like a sauce. I end up drinking the cooking liquid when it cools.