Sweet Potatoes: I'm doing it wrong.

The Captain

I'm a good cook. I really am! And I love sweet potatoes. I really do.

But I can't for the life of me make a batch of fries or baked chips, or hash...anything that requires more than boiling or wrapping up in foil and baking, really. I'm not sure what it is about sweet potatoes, but invariably whatever I'm trying to make sticks to the pan, then burns. I end up throwing half of it away as I try to pick out the good parts. I look at delicious, crisp sweet potato fries and know that mine will come out limp, ripped apart from getting stuck to the pan, and charred in at least a few spots.

What am I doing wrong? Is there some secret and I didn't get the memo?

Usually just cut up the potatoes, toss with EVOO, throw on pan and spread out, stick in the oven.

This morning I tried to make hash, and made sure there was plenty of clarified butter in the pan before I stuck the potatoes in (med-high heat), but same old story: stuck to the pan, then burned while I tried to scrape them up. Now, my skillets are sadly in need of replacing, but I have the same problem with my non-stick cookie sheets, which are in stellar shape.

Can anyone give me tips? Would love to be able to do this successfully, especially since sweet potatoes will be on the menu a lot more often now.

I bake my sweet potato fries on parchment paper. It's works wonders!

I heard once that to prevent potatoes from sticking to the bottom of the pan is to have the heat very high. I've tried it and it doesn't work for me but I don't have good pans. When making my hash I add some water in the pan to help them cook faster so that they don't burn as bad to the bottom of the pan. The hash isn't as crispy though.

Thanks for the recipe, Tom! That looks pretty much like what I've been doing already though. I've tried lining my pans with foil before, and they stick to that too.