Meal 1 timing

nerudite

So I started the Whole 30 today and I have absolutely no problem with the food choices, etc.  My major issue this morning was cooking right after I woke up (sweet potato hash, mushrooms and spinach, and eggs).  I recall in the book that you should eat fairly soon after you wake up, but this morning I got sick to my stomach from the smell of the food I was cooking, to the point I couldn't eat it until 10 a.m.  Naturally this threw off my lunch and I couldn't eat it all, and here I am hungry mid-afternoon. 

I'm going to try making a casserole tonight with lots of veggies, so all I have to do is warm up my food in the morning and maybe that won't be so bad, but I'm really not used to eating a big meal first thing in the morning.

Would it be really bad if I wake up around 6:30 a.m., but that I don't eat until closer to 8?  Thanks for the help!

Deb

• Administrators

Hi Deb, you should definitely eat within 60 minutes of waking for optimal hormone regulation.  It's a pretty big part of Whole30 and once you get used to it, has a lot of positive side effects.

Cooking first thing in the morning is definitely something to get used to.  I prep all the food in advance and then simply reheat and sometimes I'll sautee veggies to go with it but they are always already pre-sliced.

You could try things that are a bit more palatable first thing in the morning like soups with protein added (silky gingered zucchini soup from Clothes Make the Girl as well as her Golden Cauliflower Soup are favourites around here).  Chicken salad in lettuce cups with homemade mayo or avocado instead of the mayo is a good one too.  There are lost of quiche style "bakes" floating around the interwebs that are great to make on Sunday and then I usually cut them into squares and put a square in a metal pan covered in foil as soon as I get up and heat it in the oven for the 45 minutes it takes me to get ready.  Then pour the coffee and breakfast is ready!