Sleep aids for those with Mental Health issues

Hello all,

I have read a few threads on melatonin but could not find any brand recommendations that are Whole30 approved. My husband has a Mental Health issue and has not been able to sleep for most of the week. He falls asleep fine but wakes up at 1 or 2am ready to go and is not tired during the day (part of the Mental illness), so I am thinking one of the slow release tablets/drops would be best for him. I am new to this supplement and don't know which brands would be best and not have too many additives. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Hello all,

my husband suffers from Bipolar disorder and has stopped all meds in the hope of using the Paleo diet to help/eliminate symptoms. He has been off meds since December and has been mostly Whole30/Paleo with the only Whole30 rules not being followed are occasional snacks and beer and sushi, but otherwise he eats Paleo 95% of the time if not more. He is having a manic episode right now and his biggest issue is not sleeping. I was going to get him some melatonin and try that (he has been taking a double dose of unisom every night this week and still sleeps less than 4 hours). Can anyone recommend a brand of melatonin that may help and be Whole30 approved? If you have been in this situation and can provide other advice or recommendations I would be so grateful to hear about anything that has worked for you

• Administrators

Hi UCSlug, I have merged your two topics, please don't post the same thing in different places across the forum.

As far as supplements, if you husband is not actually doing a Whole30 and is drinking beer and eating sushi, does the melatonin supplement really need to be Whole30 approved? 

• Moderators