I think I'm having too many nuts...what can I swap for snacks?? Help!

Meghan

Hi All,

Today is Day 7 for me and I'm feeling really good. I haven't had any of the "typical"  week-1 issues that they said I might have. I have energy, I'm sleeping well, my digestion seems pretty good, and I'm not really cranky or craving anything. However, I am concerned that I'm not losing any weight. No, I haven't stepped on a scale since Day 0, but I just don't feel any slimmer or lighter. I read in my Whole30 Daily Newsletter today that we need to be careful not to eat too many nuts. I have nuts and/or nut butter at least once per day. I'm a teacher so it makes for a super easy snack. I've been using macadamias and cashew butter as my go to's this week. I have put the cashew butter on broccoli and dipped it in raisins, I've put it on a banana, and I've had the macadamia's with a side of unsweetened applesauce. I've also just grabbed a handful of nuts here and there. No other seeds, seed oils or nut-stuff. Am I having too much?

Can anyone suggest some snacks that DON'T use nuts/nut butters but that are satisfying in that easy, creamy, kinda salty way? :) Or any snacks at all? I'm planning to try making oven-dried beef jerky soon, but not till sometime next week when I have time.

Anything you can share would be so appreciated! Hope everyone is doing well on their journey!

-Meghan

Instead of snacks of fruit and nuts you should have a mini meal following the meal planning template, if you are hungry. Also you need to eat more at your previous meal so you don't need to snack. Check out nom nom paleo, she just posted a weeks worth of lunch box meals. I am sure she has some great ideas.