Raw vs Cooked.. Your opinions

I have been following the autoimmune protocol in hopes of healing my CFS/Epstein Barr. So far I have had good results, but have more healing to do. I eat a ton of vegetables and love to cook them all different ways, but I hear that raw has so much healing power. Should I be eating mostly Raw to heal even more or will I heal the same if I eat cooked or raw??

I love my cooked veggies!

coming from a traditional chinese medicine perspective (i'm a doctor of TCM), i'll weigh in on the side of cooked, at least for the majority of intake for the majority of people. the ideal preparation method and balance of cooked and raw of course depends on the individual, the time of day, the time of cycle, the time of year, and so many other factors (i.e., there's never one right answer for everyone or even for a single person over time). but for most folks, lightly steamed veggies are way easier on the digestion (and way more bio-accessible so far as actually using the nutrients). and in colder winter months, the intrinsic "warming", "nourishing" quality of foods is enhanced by slow cooking for a long time at a low temperature. i've treated a number of patients who have created or exacerbated digestive woes by doing the full-on raw thing.

Raw food does not merit discussion in It Starts With Food.

I have a friend who is into raw food. He also thinks it is a good idea to grind and eat the egg shells from pastured chickens to increase his calcium intake.

Just so all the invaluable mods know, Dr Drew Pinsky is under the impression that Paleo stems from the raw food movement. I sent a polite email suggesting he contact people like Dallas, Melissa, Robb and Chris. I included contact info but I doubt he went to the trouble.

Thanks for feedback...

Tom: does it not merrit discussion because it simply doesn't matter if it is raw or cooked as long as you follow the ISWF guidelines you will do good for your body?