Rash. Incessant. Unbearable. Who Else Has It?

I am on Day 11. My rash started on Day 3 and keeps getting worse and worse. It is all over my body from my neck to my ankles. It very much appears to be hives with one difference being that the goosebump textured rash on my arms seems permanent rather than intermittent. A trip to urgent care two days ago resulted in a steroid shot and a twice daily cocktail of oral antihistamines. Completely ineffective.

I have not introduced any new foods, nor have I increased the amounts of the foods that I eat. As an avid CrossFitter, I have been transitioning to a primal eating style for several months now. My goal for the Whole 30 (aside from moral support to my fibromyalgia suffering, grains-dairy-beer-cupcake addicted husband) is to wean myself from Weekly Cheat Day, random snacking, Splenda, and pack-a-day sugarless gum chewing. So this is what I have done and I can't really wrap my head around the idea that I have some condition that the junk food was protecting me from.

The ironic thing is that I am doing great otherwise. I experienced tiredness and mental fog for a few days but I have since hit two lifting PR's. I am less stiff and can feel some overuse injuries healing. I haven't been nodding off in the afternoon in spite of the sleep I have lost this week because of the discomfort. Most miraculous is my facial skin. I spent a year in Afghanistan and became afflicted with asphyxiated skin from the sun damage. It took a series of medical grade peels, prescription retinol, and regular deep exfoliation to get it under control. Then last week, my face was suddenly clear, smooth, and dewy. I can actually go without makeup! I wonder how great I would feel if I wasn't a big pile of itch?