Why the need for Reintegration

jambo101

As a total newb trying to get a handle on the site and its objectives one thing is confusing me right from the start. this new dietary lifestyle of

"Meat, seafood and eggs; vegetables and fruit; and healthy fat sources like coconut, avocado and olive oil are all foods that make you healthier.

Sugar, alcohol, grains, legumes and dairy are all food groups that have significant potential down sides, and may not contribute positively to your health.

The more you eliminate these “less healthy†foods from your everyday diet, the healthier you will be".

seems quite sensible and could be considered good eating habits for a lifetime but for some reason it seems its only a 30 day affair and a reintroduction occurs at the end,, what are you actually reintroducing yourself back into at the end of 30 days,?

Reintro is optional. Many of us do want to continue eating this way most of the time, but it's very hard to follow the rules ALWAYS. So by doing a controlled reintroduction, you can find out exactly how certain foods affect you. Based on those results, you may decide to keep them out of your diet forever (side-effects are not worth it), or they may become an occasional treat or even something you add back in daily (like cream in your coffee, if it doesn't seem to cause any issues). 30 days is recommended because that's what they consider a "reset" for your system. You get those foods out of your body for long enough that any issues they might have been causing you have gone away. Then when you do try them again, hopefully it's more obvious what kind of effects they have.

Here's what I have learned through this experience personally:

- If I eat a fair amount of dairy, I feel sleepy. I can have some butter without issues, so I have added that back into my diet but I generally stay away from my old favorites - yogurt, cheese, cottage cheese. None of them tasted quite as good after my W30 anyway.