Compulsive overeating vs. W30: Epic fail or ??

EvB

Hi,

I have been attempting W30 many times now with no success. I manage a week or two successfuly and then I end up compulsively overeating, which I have an issue with. I have seen all the posts about "Think this is hard? Cancer is hard, birthing babies is hard, W30 isn't hard!" And I get it both personally and from a marketing perspective! But I am wondering if having an eating disorder/mild OCD is sabotaging my efforts or if I'm using it as an excuse for my epic failing over and over with this. For the record, I'm healthy, work out 6-7 days/week (running, crossfit, cardio weight stuff), generally paleo. Yet I feel horrible and disgusted with myself everytime I attempt this and fail. Am I fighting a losing battle with the eating disorder front and center?

I'd love to hear from anyone who has successfully done W30 with an ED and how you managed it. Thank you!

This is my first time on the Whole 30, and I've suffered with a lot of eating disorder-like habits over the last four years including binge eating and orthorexia. I have slipped up a little with too much fruit recently (considering it a "dessert" to my meals) and have decided to kind of give that up, along with lara bars, for the rest of my whole 30 (I'm on day 9). I also think I'm going to keep a stricter routine of where/how I eat my meals. Normally I sit down every time at my table and make sure I have zero distractions (like "It Starts with Food" suggests), but this weekend I was visiting home and ended up eating my meals with my family which is normally in front of the TV. This kind of shifted me back into my old routines of getting up for dessert after a meal. I think by sticking to a better routine every day, I will have a better chance of kicking my old habits and really start listening to my body.